About 35 delegates from member states of ECOWAS embarked on a study tour to the Cyber Security Authority (CSA) to learn from Ghana’s pioneering cybersecurity efforts in the South-South region.

The visit formed part of the second edition of the Confidence-Building Measure (CBM) Workshop organised by ECOWAS, in collaboration with GIZ, in Accra, under the theme “Joint Platform for Advancing Cyber Security in West Africa”.

The delegation, led by the Principal Programme Officer for Internet, Cybersecurity & E-applications at the ECOWAS Commission, Ms. Folake Olagunju, included representatives from Foreign Affairs Ministries and ICT Ministries of the ECOWAS member states, GIZ and Diplofoundation.

Ms. Folake Olagunju emphasised the importance of the visit, highlighting that it is an opportunity for ECOWAS member states to leverage Ghana's expertise as the regional leader in cybersecurity.

Welcoming the delegates on behalf of the Director-General of the CSA, Dr. Albert Antwi-Boasiako, Mr. Benjamin Ofori, the Lead for Critical Information Infrastructure Protection (CIIP), expressed the Authority’s enthusiasm for the visit. He noted that the Authority “recognises the importance of knowledge sharing to empower our neighbouring countries in the region to develop cybersecurity resilience.”

Officials from the CSA presented on Ghana’s Cybersecurity Journey; sharing valuable insights into the Authority's efforts to ensure a resilient digital ecosystem, as mandated by the Cybersecurity Act, 2020 (Act 1038).

The session included knowledge sharing on the Authority's International Cooperation activities, the National Computer Emergency Response initiatives, and measures implemented to ensure the protection of CIIs in the country. The Lead for International Cooperation, Madam Emmanuella Darkwah and the Lead for the National Computer Emergency Response Team, Mr. Stephen Cudjoe-Seshie, led the presentations.

At the end of the session, the CSA assured participants of its commitment to ongoing collaboration, inviting them to engage in further discussions to advance cybersecurity in their respective countries.